IUR Awards

IUR Awards

Two different categories of awards have been created to recognize the quality of research and communications in radioecology. They are awarded during International Conferences.

The V. I. Vernadsky Award honors the lifetime contribution of a man or woman to enriching radioecology science. The award is granted in remembrance of Prof. Dr. V.I. Vernadsky, who pioneered modern ecology concepts and radioecology. He established and managed major national and international research programs that were fundamental for the emergence of the radiecology field.

The IUR Yound Investigator Award gives the opportunity during International Conferences to highlight the work of young researchers, selected for both the scientific quality and the interest of the scientific information

 V. I. Vernadsky Award                               

The famous natural scientist Vladimir Ivanovich Vernadsky was at the origin of new concepts in ecology, and a founder of the theory on the biosphere. As one of the founders of radioecology, the establishment of the IUR medal (Gold Medal) named after this scientist is quite justified and a rational solution stimulating creative activity in the world community of radioecologists.

Radioecology and modern ecology: A common foundation due to Vladimir Ivanovitch VERNADSKY

Rewarded in recognition of outstanding contribution to the development and dissemination of Radioecology:

6th IUR V.I. Vernadsky Award


Oslo, Norway

Prof Dr. Hildegarde Vandenhove, Belgium

Prof Dr. Hildegarde Vandenhove is Institute Director Environment Health
and Safety of SCK-CEN, Belgium. She was awarded for her significant contribution to radioecology.
The Vernadsky medal was granted to Hildegarde on the occasion of the ICRER conference 2020, finally held in 2022.

5th IUR V.I. Vernadsky Award


Berlin, Germany

Prof. Dr. Rudolf ALEXAKHIN, Russia

Prof. Dr. Rudolf ALEXAKHIN was (he passed away on 2 May 2018) Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Scientific Supervisor of the Russian Institute of Agricultural Radiology and AgroEcology (RIARAE), Obninsk, Russia

Acceptance speach

4th IUR V.I. Vernadsky Award


Barcelona, Spain

    Prof. Dr. Philos. Brit SALBU, Norway  
      Prof Dr. Philos. Brit SALBU is Director CERAD CoE Centre for Environmental RadioactivityHead, Isotope Laboratory Head, Section Environmental Chemistry,Department of Environmental Sciences, Norwegian University of Life Sciences, Norway

      Acceptance speach

      3rd IUR V.I. Vernadsky Award


      Hamilton, Canada

      Dr. Yoichiro OMONO, Japan

      Dr. Yoichiro OMONO is Executive Advisor, Former President of Institute for Environmental Sciences (IES), Aomori, Japan

      2nd IUR V.I. Vernadsky Award


      Bergen, Norway

      Prof. Gennady POLIKARPOV, Ukraine

      A.O. Kovalevsky Institute of Biology of Southern Seas, IBSS,
      National Academy of Sciences, Ukraine

      Curriculum Vitae

      Acceptance speach


      1st IUR V.I. Vernadsky Award


      Nice, France

      Prof. Ward WHICKER, USA

      Department of Environmental and Radiological Health Sciences
      Colorado State University
      Fort Collins, USA


       IUR Young Investigator Award                          

      Rewarded for the scientific quality and the presentation of the radioecology research :

      2020, Oslo, Norway

      Javnjuk Andrian, Ukraine
      Sarah Donaher, USA
      Sam Hancock, Canada
      Jingjing Wang, China

      2017, Berlin, Germany

      Christina Ganzha
      Department of Aquatic Radioecology, Institute of Hydrobiology of the NAS of Ukraine
      Geroyev, Kyiv, Ukraine
      Adrian Iavniuk
      Department of Freshwater Radioecology, Institute of Hydrobiology of the National Academy of
      Sciences of Ukraine (NASU), Kyiv, Ukraine
      Dawn Montgomery
      Department of Environmental Engineering and Earth Science, Clemson University, South Carolina, USA
      Aramrun Phakphum
      School of Environment & Life Sciences, University of Salford, Manchester, UK
      Polina Yu. Volkova
      Laboratory of radiobiology and ecotoxicology of plants, Russian Institute of Radiology and Agroecology, Obninsk, Russia

      2014, Barcelona, Spain

      On the occasion of the ICRER 2014 Conference, three young researchers have been granted the IUR Young Investigator Award for the outstanding quality of their research work and reporting at the conference. The awardees were:

      Nicole E. Martinez, USA, Comparison of computational models for estimation of whole body and organ radiation dose in rainbow trout from uptake of iodine-131
       -  Kyo Kitayama, Japan, Temporal change in the 137Cs concentration ratio between coarse and fine particles in Fukushima
      Polina Y. Volkova, Russia, Genetic variability in chronic irradiated plant populations

      Professionals / Scientists